Events

Loading Events

« All Events

BIE Agency Plan Tribal Consultation

August 9 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm CDT

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on August 11, 2022 at 2:00 pm

On March 26, 2020, the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) published its Standards, Assessments, and Accountability System in its Agency Plan to govern how the Secretary of the Interior implements requirements for standards, assessments, and accountability systems for BIE-funded schools consistent with Section 1111 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as amended by the Every
Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The Agency Plan is a Consolidated State Plan aligned to the U.S. Department of Education Consolidated State Plan Template.

Consultation will be conducted to provide an overview of the ESSA formula and discretionary grant programs that are implemented within BIE-funded schools. The BIE seeks input from stakeholders as to:

  1. what additional support the BIE can integrate in its implementation of ESSA programming in accordance with the ESSA tiers of evidence to improve student outcomes;
  2. Graduation Rate and English Language Learners Proficiency determinations and identification of schools (comprehensive support and improvement activities and targeted support and improvement activities);
  3. amendments to the Comprehensive Support and Improvement (CSI) graduation rate exit criteria methodology; and
  4. any other suggestions that would improve BIE’s delivery of high-quality educational services and support to students at BIE funded schools.

Two 2 hour webinar sessions will be scheduled. One session is designated for Tribal representatives or their designee, and one session is designated for school boards, parents, teachers, and other public stakeholders. Oral and written comments will also be accepted.

Tribal Consultation:
Tuesday, August 9, 2022
10:00 am – 12:00 pm Mountain/11:00 pm – 1:00 pm Central/12:00 pm – 2:00 pm Eastern
Register in advance

Public Consultation:
Thursday, August 11, 2022
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Mountain/2:00 pm – 4:00 pm Central/3:00 pm – 5:00 pm Eastern
Register in advance

Background information on the U.S. Department of Education Consolidated State Plan Template is available at www.bie.edu/tribalconsultations. The BIE strongly recommends reviewing the BIE’s webpage prior to attending a consultation session or submitting written comments for providing meaningful feedback.

If you would like to provide written input, please either email your comments to consultation@bia.gov or mail to Ms. Juanita Mendoza, 1849 C Street, NW, MS 3609, Washington DC 20240. If you have any questions regarding the Tribal consultations, you may contact Ms. Juanita Mendoza by phone at (202) 208-3559 or by email at juanita.mendoza@bie.edu.

Details

Date:
August 9
Time:
11:00 am - 1:00 pm
CDT
Event Categories:
, , , , ,