



Nashville TN Office 711 Stewarts Ferry Pike, Ste. 100 Nashville TN 37214 P: (615) 872-7900 F: (615) 872-7417

Washington DC Office 400 North Capitol St., Ste. 585 Washington DC 20001 P: (202) 624-3550 F: (202) 393-5218

USET SPF Resolution No. 2019 SPF:003

NATIONAL HEALTH RELATED WORKGROUP AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

- **WHEREAS,** United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund (USET SPF) is an intertribal organization comprised of twenty-seven (27) federally recognized Tribal Nations; and
- WHEREAS, the actions taken by the USET SPF Board of Directors officially represent the intentions of each member Tribal Nation, as the Board of Directors comprises delegates from the member Tribal Nations' leadership; and
- **WHEREAS,** the United States (U.S.) Government and each federally recognized Tribal Nation has a government-to-government relationship grounded in numerous historical, political, legal, moral, and ethical considerations; and
- **WHEREAS,** it is essential that Tribal Nations and U.S. Departments/Operating Divisions engage in open continuous, and meaningful consultation; and
- WHEREAS, the critical importance of Tribal Consultation with Tribal Nation Governments was affirmed through Presidential Memoranda (1994, 2004 & 2009) and a subsequent Executive Order (2000); and
- **WHEREAS,** the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) was the first to develop and implement a Tribal Consultation process under the Presidential directives; and
- **WHEREAS,** the development of a Tribal Consultation process was completed with direct involvement of Tribal Nation Governmental representatives, including USET staff; and
- WHEREAS, a variety of committees/workgroups have been developed to facilitate meaningful consultation with Tribal Nation Governments on issues that impact them and to promote Tribal Nation participation in the decision-making process to the greatest extent possible; and
- WHEREAS, in December 2010, the U.S. recognized the rights of its First Peoples through its support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP), whose provisions and principles support and promote the purposes of this resolution; therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED** the USET SPF Board of Directors appoints the following individuals to represent member Tribal Nations and their interests on the following Department of Health and Human Services committees/workgroups:

1. Indian Health Service Nashville Area Budget Formulation Team

- a. Teresa Cochran, Micmac Service Unit
- b. Edie Jackson, Poarch Band of Creek Indians
- c. Paula Manuel, Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana
- d. Carrie Lessard, Baltimore American Indian Urban Center
- e. Catherine Willis, Indian Health Service, Nashville Area Office
- f. Keith Neves, Indian Health Service Nashville Area Office
- g. Dee Sabattus, Passamaquoddy Indian Township
- h. Kitcki Carroll, Executive Director, USET
- 2. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Tribal Advisory Committee
 - a. Primary: Chief Beverly Cook, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe
 - b. Alternate: Chief Lynn Malerba, Mohegan Tribe of Indians
 - c. Technical Representative: Tori Reaves, USET

3. Office of Minority Health (OMH)

- a. Primary: Chief Kirk Francis, Penobscot Indian Nation
- b. Alternate: Marlene Wakefield, Seneca Nation
- c. Technical Support: Tori Reaves, USET

4. Tribal Technical Advisory Group TTAG:

- a. Primary: Casey Cooper, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
- b. Alternate: Nancy Johnson, Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas
- c. Technical Support: Elliott Milhollin, Hobbs, Strauss, Dean and Walker

and, be it further

RESOLVED the USET SPF Board of Directors authorizes and empowers the appointed individuals to act and make recommendations/decisions on their behalf while attending the respective committee and/or workgroup meetings and/or conference calls.

CERTIFICATION

This resolution was duly passed at the USET SPF Annual Meeting held on the Sovereign Territory of the Seneca Nation of Indians, at which a quorum was present on October 11, 2018.

Chief Kirk E. Francis, Sr., President United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund

ynn Malerta

Chief Lynn Malerba, Secretary United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund