

Nashville TN Office
711 Stewarts Ferry Pike, Ste. 100

Nashville TN 37214 P: (615) 872-7900 F: (615) 872-7417

Washington DC Office

400 North Capitol St., Ste. 585 Washington DC 20001 P: (202) 624-3550 F: (202) 393-5218

USET SPF Resolution No. 2017 SPF:013

APPOINTING EASTERN REGION REPRESENTATIVES TO THE TRIBAL - INTERIOR BUDGET COUNCIL

WHEREAS, United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund (USET SPF) is an intertribal organization comprised of twenty-six (26) federally recognized Tribal Nations; and

WHEREAS, the actions taken by the USET SPF Board of Directors officially represent the intentions of each member Tribal Nation, as the Board of Directors comprises delegates from the member Tribal Nations' leadership; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal-Interior Budget Council (previously the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)/Tribal Budget Advisory Council) was established in 1999 and includes two Tribal representatives from each of the 12 BIA regions; and

WHEREAS, TIBC provides a forum and process for Tribal Nations and federal officials to work together in developing annual budget requests for Indian programs in the Department of the Interior; and

WHEREAS, it is essential that Tribal Nations and United States Departments/Operating Divisions engage in open continuous, and meaningful consultation; and

WHEREAS, TIBC is one example of numerous committees/workgroups that have been developed to facilitate meaningful consultation with Tribal governments on issues that impact them and to promote Tribal Nation participation in the decision making process to the greatest extent possible; and

whereas, in December 2010, the United States recognized the rights of its First Peoples through its support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP), whose provisions and principles support and promote the purposes of this resolution; therefore, be it

the USET SPF Board of Directors appoints Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)
Chairwoman, Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, reappoints USET SPF Executive Director, Kitcki Carroll, and appoints alternate DeMakus Staton of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians as Tribal-Interior Budget Council Eastern Region Representatives.

CERTIFICATION

This resolution was duly passed at the USET SPF Impact Week Meeting, at which a quorum was present, in Arlington, VA, February 9, 2017.

Chief Kirk Francis, Sr., President United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund Chief Lynn Malerba, Secretary United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund