

Nashville TN Office
711 Stewarts Ferry Pike, Ste. 100

Nashville TN 37214 P: (615) 872-7900 F: (615) 872-7417

Washington DC Office

400 North Capitol St., Ste. 585 Washington DC 20001 P: (202) 624-3550 F: (202) 393-5218

## **USET SPF Resolution No. 2017 SPF:014**

## NOMINATING USET SPF TRIBAL LEADERS TO THE DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT TRIBAL INTERGOVERNMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund (USET SPF) is an intertribal organization comprised of twenty-six (26) federally recognized Tribal Nations; and

WHEREAS, the actions taken by the USET SPF Board of Directors officially represent the intentions of each member Tribal Nation, as the Board of Directors comprises delegates from the member Tribal Nations' leadership; and

whereas, on December 21, 2016, the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) published a notice in the FEDERAL REGISTER establishing the Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (TIAC, or Committee) and soliciting nominations for Tribal Leaders to serve on the Committee; and

whereas, the purpose of the TIAC is to further communications between HUD and federally-recognized Tribal Nations on HUD programs, make recommendations to HUD regarding current program regulations, and provide advice in the development of HUD's American Indian and Alaska Native housing priorities; and

WHEREAS, the TIAC is intended to enhance the government-to-government relationships, communications, and mutual cooperation between HUD and Tribal governments and USET SPF supports this mission; and

WHEREAS, the TIAC will be composed of up to fifteen Tribal representatives and up to two Tribal Leaders will represent each of the six HUD Office of Native American Programs (ONAP) Regions; and

**WHEREAS,** USET SPF member Tribal Nations are located in both the Eastern Woodlands and the Southern Plains ONAP Regions; and

WHEREAS, Sub-Chief Shelley Jacobs of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe and Chairman Dennis "Bill" Taylor of the Eastern Band of Cherokee have interest in representing the Eastern Woodlands Region; and

WHEREAS, in December 2010, the United States recognized the rights of its First Peoples through its support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP), whose provisions and principles support and promote the purposes of this resolution; therefore, be it

**RESOLVED** the USET SPF Board of Directors nominates Sub-Chief Shelley Jacobs and Chairman Dennis "Bill" Taylor to serve on the Department of Housing and Urban Development Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee.

## **CERTIFICATION**

This resolution was duly passed at the USET SPF Impact Week Meeting, at which a quorum was present, in Arlington, VA, February 9, 2017.

Chief Kirk Francis, Sr., President United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund Chief Lynn Malerba, Secretary United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund