



Nashville TN Office 711 Stewarts Ferry Pike, Ste. 100 Nashville TN 37214 P: (615) 872-7900 F: (615) 872-7417

Washington DC Office 400 North Capitol St., Ste. 585 Washington DC 20001 P: (202) 624-3550 F: (202) 393-5218

USET SPF Resolution No. 2017 SPF:018

APPOINTING EASTERN REGION REPRESENTATIVES TO THE DEPARTMENT OF INTERIOR SELF-GOVERNANCE ADVISORY COMMITTEEE

- WHEREAS, United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund (USET SPF) is an intertribal organization comprised of twenty-six (26) federally recognized Tribal Nations; and
- **WHEREAS,** the actions taken by the USET SPF Board of Directors officially represent the intentions of each member Tribal Nation, as the Board of Directors comprises delegates from the member Tribal Nations' leadership; and
- WHEREAS, in 1994, Self-Governance was permanently authorized in the Department of the Interior (DOI) under P.L. 104-413, Title IV of the Indian Self Determination and Education Assistance Act (P.L. 93-638, as amended); and
- WHEREAS, P.L. 93-638 recognizes the inherent rights, authorities, and capabilities of sovereign Tribal Nations in the management or "self-governance" of federal Indian programs administered by DOI; and
- WHEREAS, a Self-Governance Advisory Committee (SGAC) comprised of Self-Governance Tribal representatives was formally sanctioned by the Assistant Secretary Bureau of Indian Affairs (ASIA) in 1998, which provides the opportunity for Self-Governance Tribal governments to provide guidance on the implementation of the Title IV amendments within the DOI; and
- WHEREAS, SGAC is one example of numerous committees and workgroups that have been developed to facilitate meaningful consultation with Tribal governments on issues that impact them and to promote Tribal Nation participation in the decision making process to the greatest extent possible; and
- WHEREAS, the SGAC consists of a Primary and an Alternate representative from each of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) regions that have Self-Governance Tribal Nations, and USET SPF Tribal Nations are located in the BIA Eastern Region; and
- WHEREAS, in December 2010, the United States recognized the rights of its First Peoples through its support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP), whose provisions and principles support and promote the purposes of this resolution; therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED** the USET SPF Board of Directors appoints Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah) Chairwoman, Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, and alternate DeMakus Staton of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians as its Department of Interior Self-Governance Advisory Committee Eastern Region Representatives.

CERTIFICATION

This resolution was duly passed at the USET SPF Impact Week Meeting, at which a quorum was present, in Arlington, VA, February 9, 2017.

Chief Kirk Francis, Sr., President United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund

alerta

Chief Lynn Malerba, Secretary United South and Eastern Tribes Sovereignty Protection Fund

Because there is Strength in Unity