Events

Loading Events

« All Events

CMS IHS Annual Virtual Training for Nashville and Bemidji Areas

June 14 - June 23

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is committed to helping the Indian Health Service
(IHS), Tribal Health Programs, and Urban Indian Programs (ITU) to maximize their ability to access third party resources. To meet this objective, CMS, in partnership with the States, the Social Security
Administration and IHS, provides training on the programs and benefits available through Medicare,
Medicaid, and the Health Insurance Marketplace.

The target audience for the CMS ITU trainings is:

  • Business Office staff
  • Benefits Coordinators
  • Patient Registration staff
  • Billing and Coding staff

Topics at a glance:

  • CMS Tribal Affairs Updates
  • Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security
  • Coding, PRC, and much more

Training times by time zone
Morning 8:00 AM (PT); 9:00 AM (MT); 10:00 AM (CT); 11:00 AM (ET)
Afternoon 11:30 AM (PT); 12:30 PM (MT); 1:30 PM (CT); 2:30 PM (ET)

Schedule At A Glance

Monday, June 14, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – Division of Tribal Affairs Updates & Outreach and Enrollment (Georgey Sparks – CMS Division of Tribal Affairs, Nancy Grano – Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and Kristen Bitsuie – National Indian Health Board)
  • 2:30 PM (ET) – The Health Insurance Marketplace (Kristen Bitsuie – National Indian Health Board (NIHB))

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – Breaking the Cycle – Free Yourself from Revenue Loss (Lorraine Reels-Pearson – Indian Health Service (IHS) Nashville Area Office and Kristina Rogers – Area HIM Consultant)
  • 2:30 PM (ET) – PRC Rates (Brenda Sam – Indian Health Service (IHS) Bemidji Area Office and Bree Tiger – Indian Health Service (IHS) Nashville Area Office)

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – Social Security and Medicare Benefits 101 (Rhonda Whitenack and Eric Martinez – Social Security Administration)

Thursday, June 17, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – OIG – Medicare and Medicaid Compliance (Special Agent Richard Haines and Scott Levine – DHHS OIG Office of Investigations)
  • 3:30 PM (ET) – Veterans Health Administration Updates and VA Caregiver Program (Christopher Scott and Leah Christensen – Veterans Administration)

Monday, June 21, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – Medicaid and CHIP 101 and American Indians/Alaska Natives (AI/AN) (Nancy Grano – Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

  • 11:00 AM (ET) – Novitas Solutions – Medicare Provider Enrollment (Gail Atnip and Kim Robinson – Novitas Solutions, Inc.)
  • 2:30 PM (ET) – Novitas Solutions – Providing COVID-19 Information Update (Gail Atnip and Kim Robinson – Novitas Solutions, Inc.)

Wednesday, June 23, 2021

  • 2:30 PM (ET) – CHEF Program (Brenda Sam – Indian Health Service (IHS) Bemidji Area Office and Bree Tiger – Indian Health Service (IHS) Nashville Area Office)

CEUs

You will receive 1 CEU from AAPC (American Academy of Professional Coders) for each webinar you
attend for up to a maximum of 11 CEU’s for the virtual training series.

PLEASE NOTE: You will need to participate in the full webinar and not log off early to receive the CEU
certificate. A link will be sent to an online evaluation form to complete after each webinar. Your feedback
is important to help us improve.

  • Participants who complete the evaluation within 24 hours of receipt, will receive their CEU(s)
    certificate by the next business day.
  • Evaluations completed outside of the initial 24-hour timeframe will be awarded the CEU certificate(s)
    3 business days after this training ends.
  • Lastly, an overall evaluation form will be sent at the end of the training about the overall experience.

Please register at: https://regionalcmsitutrainings.com/

How to join a Webex

Please click here for details on how to join a Webex. Please download and test application a minimum
of 48 hours prior to the webinar.

Program contact information

Nancy Grano
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
617-565-1695
nancy.grano@cms.hhs.gov

Leslie Reece
Indian Health Service (IHS) Bemidji Area
218-444-0509
leslie.reece@ihs.gov

Lorraine Reels-Pearson
Indian Health Service (IHS) Nashville Area
615-467-1623
lorraine.reels-pearson@ihs.gov

Rachel Ryan Pedersen
CMS Division of Tribal Affairs/CAHPG/CMCS
443-934-2740
rachel.ryanpedersen@cms.hhs.gov

Georgey Sparks
CMS Division of Tribal Affairs/CAHPG/CMCS
410-786-4608
georgeline.sparks@cms.hhs.gov

Registration contact information: cmsitutrainings@octanepublicrelations.com

Details

Start:
June 14
End:
June 23
Event Categories:
, ,