Events

Loading Events

« All Events

International Repatriation Listening Session

May 9 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm CDT

Dear Tribal Leader Letter

The Department of the Interior and the Department of State, in coordination with the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, and in conjunction with the White House Council on Native American Affairs, will hold two virtual Tribal listening sessions to help shape a pilot program on the topic of international repatriation of Native American cultural heritage items and human remains.

The Tribal listening sessions will be held via Zoom on the following dates and times:

  • Monday, May 9 at 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm Central/1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern Zoom Registration
  • Tuesday, May 10 at 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm Central/3:00 pm – 5:00 pm Eastern Zoom Registration

In addition to joining one of the Tribal engagement sessions listed above, please submit any written comments to consultation@bia.gov by 11 :59 p.m. ET on Friday, May 25. 2022.

If you have questions, or need additional information, please contact Mr. Joaquin Gallegos, Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs, atjoaquin_gallegos@ios.doi.gov or Ms. Ashley Fry,
Department of State’s Cultural Heritage Center, at (202) 492-1947 or FryAD@state.gov.

Details

Date:
May 9
Time:
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm CDT
Event Categories:
, , ,