Events

Loading Events

« All Events

Tribal Consultation on Quadrennial Homeland Security Review

June 7 @ 3:00 pm CDT

Dear Tribal Leader Letter

SCHEDULED CONSULTATION SESSIONS
Tuesday, June 7 at  4:00 ET, 3:00 CT, 2:00 MT, 1:00 PT, 12:00 AK
• Phone only – 855-852-7677 Pin: 6889430

Wednesday, June 8 at 1:00 ET, 12:00 CT, 11:00 MT, 10:00 PT, 9:00 AK
MS Teams

Thursday, June 9 at 1:00 ET, 12:00 CT, 11:00 MT, 10:00 PT, 9:00 AK
MS Teams

Tribal leaders are invited to participate with the Department of Homeland Security in consultation related to our development of the 2022 Quadrennial Homeland Security Review (QHSR), as required by Section 707 of the Homeland Security Act of 2002 (P.L. 107-296), as amended by the 1521 Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007 (P.L. 110-53).

From countering terrorist and other threats, to managing the border, to administering the immigration system, to securing cyber networks and critical infrastructure, to developing resilience and responding to disasters, the Department of Homeland Security conducts a wide range of missions to secure the homeland. The purpose of this consultation is to solicit input from Tribal Nations and Alaska Native Corporations on the following topics:

  • What are the most significant homeland security challenges you will face over the next four years?
  • What is the Department of Homeland doing well and how can it do better over the next four years?

Provided is a list of scheduled consultations to provide tribal leaders and their representatives with various times and opportunities to participate. Written comments for this consultation effort are due no later than 30-days after the issuance of this invitation.

The Deputy Assistant Secretary for Strategic Initiatives, Joel Meyer, will serve as the Department’s tribal consultation official and lead this tribal consultation effort. If you have any questions about the consultation, please contact the Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, Director of Tribal Government Affairs, David Munro, at: david.munro@hq.dhs.gov or (202)-360-8998.